About the university


The university organization evolution responds to two issues:

- To the considerable growth of the student population (in 1954, 39 students enrolled; in 1960, 1924; in 1979, 5472; in 1993, 8489) and the growth of the university, by increasing the number of schools

- And to the fulfillment of the higher education demands, challenging other education institutions


The Universidad Autónoma de Chihuahua is divided into 15 schools. The administrative organization relays in a central unit that integrates and supports the schools of the university, in their functions and activities.


The schools are based on a pyramid-like structure:

1 Director
5 Area Deans

The university is formed by 15 Schools which offer 39 undergraduate programs and 38 graduate programs, as well as Updating Courses and Continuing Education programs.

Each school has classrooms, laboratories, and workshops where the teaching and the research activities are carried out.

Eight schools are located in the main university campus with a land extension of 24 hectares.

Governing organs:


They rule, in general terms, the functioning of the institution, and they are the following:

University Senate

It is the highest authority of the university and is formed by:

The President
The Schools directors
A teacher and two students representing each school
An Academic Union Member
A Clerical Union Member
The university's Vice-President

Board of Trustees
This is assigned by the University Senate in order to achieve financial and patrimonial resources to accomplish the university goals.

Directors Council
It is conformed by the President and by the schools' directors.

School (Technical) Council
It is the highest authority in each school, and is formed by:

The director
Three technical counselors
Three students in case there is only one undergraduate programs in the school
If there were two or more undergraduate programs, two teachers and two students would be elected from each career.
A graduate student and a graduate teacher from its respective graduate program will be members of the Council

Teachers and students (councilors) will be appointed by the students. With the agreement of more than a half of the student population, the councilors may be removed from their charge. The council voting can be secret, unless there exist students' instructions not to do so.


This is the only personal body that governs over the whole university. It is appointed for a four-year term, and he cannot be reelected in any case.

He carries out the planning, completion, control, and evaluation processes related to his objectives and programs, according to the regulations and policies derived from the administration and the university policies manual. He has control over the Secretary office and over certain areas told by the President.

They are assigned by the University Senate. They have a four-year term, and they cannot be reelected.

To accomplish the university objectives, it has four basic areas: Academics, Research, Diffusion, and Administrative. The respective provosts are freely assigned and can be freely removed by the President to whom they would be responsible for rendering accounts.

Their main duties are the following:

· To manage the resources assigned for their departments
· To plan the department activities and development
· To inform the Area Provosts of the departments' development